South Bank Sky Arts Awards 2013: Nominations

The full list of nominations for next months South Bank Awards have today been announced.

The South Bank Awards take place on Tuesday, March 12th at the Dorchester in London, presented by Melyvn Bragg.

Of the shortlist, Bragg said: “2012 was a remarkably fineyear for British achievement not least in British art, by British artists.

“Arriving at this shortlist was a tough job for our judges.  Weare proud of this world class list of nominees which recognise and honour the best talent at work in the UK today.”

Director of , James Hunt, added: “What a tremendous shortlist for this, the third year of The South Bank Awards, which continue to grow from strength to strength.

“We are incredibly proud of this opportunity to live the motto of our channel which is to celebrate the best of the arts.”

Take a look at the nominees, below:

Classical Music

Iestyn Davies, Arcangelo, Jonathan Cohen - Arias for Guadagni
London Philharmonic Orchestra, Julian Anderson, Ryan Wigglesworth – The Discovery of Heaven – Royal Festival Hall
London Symphony Orchestra, Sir Simon Rattle – Wynton Marsalis’s Swing Symphony – Barbican.


Alan Partridge: Welcome to The Places of My Life (Sky Atlantic)
Hunderby (Sky Atlantic)
Twenty Twelve (BBC Two)


A Streetcar Named Desire (Scottish Ballet)
Jeux (English National Ballet)
Metamorphosis: Titian 2012 (Royal Ballet & National Gallery)


Berberian Sound Studio
The Imposter


Bring Up the Bodies (Hilary Mantel)
Tony Hogan Bought Me an Ice-cream Float Before He Stole My Ma (Kerry Hudson)
Umbrella (Will Self)


Les Troyens (Royal Opera House)
Ghost Patrol (Scottish Opera & Music Theatre Wales)
Where the Wild Things Are (Barbican)

Pop Music

Devotion (Jessie Ware)
Ill Manors (Plan B)
Words and Music (Saint Etienne)


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (National Theatre)
The River (The Royal Court Theatre – Jerwood Theatre Upstairs)
The Master & Margarita (Complicite – Barbican)

TV Drama

Line of Duty (BBC Two)
Parade’s End (BBC Two)
The Hollow Crown (BBC Two)

Visual Art

Hopkins Architects: London 2012 (Velodrome, Olympic Park)
Paul Noble: Turner Prize Exhibition (Tate Britain)
Thomas Heatherwick: London 2012 Olympic Cauldron (Olympic Park)

This year’s award statue has been designed by Livvy Fink – a masters student studying ceramics & glass at the Royal College of Art. She was selected to create the new award in collaboration with the Royal College of Art.

Watch a clip from last year’s event below.


Jordan is the Editor-in-Chief at imediamonkey®. He set up the website in August 2009 and has been at the helm ever since. Jordan is also one of the two Company Directors at imediamonkey® ltd - the parent company of imediamonkey®.

More posts by :

No comments on South Bank Sky Arts Awards 2013: Nominations

Leave a comment